2017 Awards

2017 ASEE-GSW Section Awards


Section Outstanding Campus Representative Award:

Dr. Stan McClellan, Texas State University, San Marcus, Texas


Person Mile Award:

Costal Bend College, Beeville, Texas, 78102, 2832 miles


Outstanding Section Teaching Award:

No Award was given


Outstanding Young Faculty Award:

Dr. Krystel Castillo, Mechanical Engineering Department, .The University of Texas at San Antonio, San Antonio, Texas


Outstanding GSW Section Service Award:

No Award was given



Best Paper Awards:


Undergraduate Student Papers

 First place

“VacMAPS (Vaccine Management and Preservation System),” Paper number 18, by James Harbuck, Ana Macias, Jeffrey Weaver, and Joshua Weber, Mechanical Engineering Department, The University of Texas at San Antonio

Second Place

“Design Analysis and Environmental Impacts of Access Roads in Okurase Village, Ghana, Africa,” Paper number 54, by Amy Madelyn Lackey and Harmonie A. Hawley, Department of Civil Engineering, University of Texas at Tyler

Third Place

“The Resurrection of a Seiko D-Tran SCARA Arm,” Paper number 104, Ruben Bergstresser, Rebecca James, Vincent Nicholas, Luis Suarez, and Melvin Robinson, The University of Texas at Tyler  and Robert Glenn Baylor College of Medicine, Human Genome Sequencing Center


 Graduate Student Papers

First Place

“A Framework for Teaching Web Application Development without Getting Lost in the Technology Universe,” Paper number 42, by Miguel A. Angulo and Ozgur Aktunc, Department of Engineering St. Mary’s University, San Antonio, Texas

Second Place

“System Identification Using Adaptive Filter with Recursive Least Squares Algorithm, Paper number 59, “ Mahboob khan Mohammed, Chung S. Leung, and Susmitha Chilukuri, Electrical Engineering & Computer Science Department Texas A & M University-Kingsville

Third Place

“Effect of Cross Sensory Processing of Unimodal Stimulus on Occipital–Parietal Cortex Coherence and Event-Related Potential in Autistic and Control,” Paper number 89, by Monay Shoushan and Mary Baker, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Texas Tech University, Lubbock, Texas



Faculty Papers

First Place

“Using the SCALE-UP Method to Create an Engaging First Year Engineering Course,” Paper number 30, David J. Ewing – The University of Texas at Arlington

Second Place

“How the Proposed Changes in ABET-EAC-Criteria 3and 5 Effects the Assessment Process?,” Paper number 111, by Amir  Karimi, The University of Texas at San Antonio 

Third Place

“Undergraduate Research in Engineering Technology as a High-Impact Learning Experience,” paper number 102, by Ilse Nava-Medina, Angie Hill Price, and Mathew Kuttolamadom, Texas A&M University, College Station, TX