2022 Awards

2022 ASEE-GSW Section Awards

Hosted by Prairie View A&M University, Prairie View, Texas

March 16-18


Person Mile Award:

Norfolk State University, Certificate


Outstanding Teaching Award

Dr. Michael Gangone, University of Texas-Tyler  ($500)


Outstanding Young Faculty Award:

Dr. Byul Hur, Texas A&M University ($500)


Outstanding GSW Section Service Award:

Ronald Barr, University of Texas-Austin ($500)


Outstanding Campus Representative Award

Dr. Kenneth Van Treuren, Baylor University (Certificate)


Best Paper Awards


Faculty/Staff Paper Awards:


1st Place: ($300)

“Factors Affecting the Success Rate of First Year Chemical Engineering Student,” Paper Number 35815, by: Sheena Reeves, Prairie View A&M University


2nd Place ($200)

“Creating a Hands on Civil Engineering Materials Laboratory Experience at Home,” Paper Number 35795, by: Michael Gangone and Michael McGinnis, The University of Texas at Tyler


3rd Place ($100)

“eSMART: A collaborative, competitive challenge to foster engineering education,” Paper Number 35793, by: Paul Koola, Jay Porter, and Rahul Subramanian , Texas A&M University


Undergraduate Student Paper Awards:


1st Place

“Quantifying Engagement in Preschool Classrooms – Conversational Turn-Taking & Topic Initiations,” Paper Number 35935, by: Sarah Tao (University of Texas at Dallas). Jay Buzhardt (University of Kansas), Satwik Dutta (University of Texas at Dallas), John Hansen (University of Texas at Dallas), Dwight Irvin (University of Kansas), and Yagmur Seven (University of Kansas)

2nd Place

“Using Neural Networks to Distinguish Children’s Age with Visual Features of Sketches,” Paper Number 35976, by: Aniket Patel, Tracy Hammond, and Seth Polsley, Texas A&M University


3rd Place

“Smartphone-Based Self-Diagnosis of Parkinson’s Disease,” Paper Number 35788, Makarand Deo, Sacharia Albin, Jailyn Battle, Monica Brown, Jordan Burton, Karl McKenzie, Ve’an Randall, Sheryl Shaji, and Bright Tsevi, Norfolk State University


Graduate Student Paper Awards:


1st Place

Performance of an Omnidirectional Wind Energy Harvesting System for Low Wind-Speeds,” Paper Number 35842, by Olatunde Adeoye, John Attia, Shuza Binzaid, Prairie View A&M University


2nd Place

“Development of Dynamic Modulus Predictive Model Using Artificial Neural Network (ANN),” Paper Number 35773, by Mena Souliman, and Prashanta Kumar Acharjee ,The University of Texas at Tyler


3rd Place

“Integrating Usability into the Agile Software Development Life Cycle Using User Experience Practices,” Paper Number 35756, by Tori Gardner, and Ozgur Aktunc, St. Mary’s University