Next Meeting

2022 Prairie View A&M University (John Attia) – EAST

Most Recent Meeting

Young Faculty Award:

Dr. Byul Hur, Texas A&M University

Teaching Award:

Dr. Alexander Matthew, Texas A&M University – Kingsville

Service Award:

Dr. Ron Barr, University of Texas at Austin (Retired)

Thanks to Baylor University and Dr. Kenneth W. Van Treuren for hosting the virtual 2021 GSW Conference!

Congratulations to the following award winners!

Outstanding Teaching Award

Dr. Anne Spence, Baylor University

Outstanding Young Faculty Award:

Dr. Adeeba Raheem, University of Texas-El Paso

Outstanding GSW Section Service Award:

Lynn Peterson, University of Texas-Arlington

Outstanding Campus Representative Award

Dr. Amir Karimi, University of Texas -San Antonio

Best Paper Awards

Faculty/Staff Paper Awards:

1st Place: ($300)

“Factors Affecting the Success Rate of First Year Chemical Engineering Student,” Paper Number 35815, by: Sheena Reeves, Prairie View A&M University

2nd Place ($200)

“Creating a Hands on Civil Engineering Materials Laboratory Experience at Home,” Paper Number 35795, by: Michael Gangone and Michael McGinnis, The University of Texas at Tyler

3rd Place ($100)

“eSMART: A collaborative, competitive challenge to foster engineering education,” Paper Number 35793, by: Paul Koola, Jay Porter, and Rahul Subramanian , Texas A&M University

Undergraduate Student Paper Awards:

1st Place

“Quantifying Engagement in Preschool Classrooms – Conversational Turn-Taking & Topic Initiations,” Paper Number 35935, by: Sarah Tao (University of Texas at Dallas).

Jay Buzhardt (University of Kansas), Satwik Dutta (University of Texas at Dallas), John Hansen (University of
Texas at Dallas), Dwight Irvin (University of Kansas), and Yagmur Seven (University of Kansas)

2nd Place

“Using Neural Networks to Distinguish Children’s Age with Visual Features of Sketches,” Paper Number 35976, by: Aniket Patel, Tracy Hammond, and Seth Polsley, Texas A&M University

3rd Place 

“Smartphone-Based Self-Diagnosis of Parkinson’s Disease,” Paper Number 35788, Makarand Deo, Sacharia Albin, Jailyn Battle, Monica Brown, Jordan Burton, Karl McKenzie, Ve’an Randall, Sheryl Shaji, and Bright Tsevi, Norfolk State University


Graduate Student Paper Awards:

1st Place

Performance of an Omnidirectional Wind Energy Harvesting System for Low Wind-Speeds,” Paper Number 35842, by Olatunde Adeoye, John Attia, Shuza Binzaid, Prairie View A&M University

2nd Place

“Development of Dynamic Modulus Predictive Model Using Artificial Neural Network (ANN),” Paper Number 35773, by Mena Souliman, and Prashanta Kumar Acharjee, The University of Texas at Tyler

3rd Place

“Integrating Usability into the Agile Software Development Life Cycle Using User Experience Practices,” Paper Number 35756, by Tori Gardner, and Ozgur Aktunc, St. Mary’s University